St. Brides is a distinct Georgian detached residence on a mature site in the heart of Loughrea Town Centre. The residence originally dates back to circa 1820 and was owned by Henry Lascelles Earl of Harewood of Portumna Castle and York in England.
The property was initially home of General Harrison, a British Army officer with the stables utilised as barracks for the town in the 1800's. Ms. Mary O'Toole leased the property from 10th December 1896 for 61 years up to when the Earl of Harewood sold the property on 5th November 1931 to Mr. Austin O'Toole, a local auctioneer. The current owners bought the property in 1960 and it has been a loving family home past on through the intertwining generations.
The property boasts many distinct Georgian period features such as Doric doorcase, high ceilings and decorative arches. The property is listed in the record of protected structures for Co. Galway. There is an abundance of spacious well-proportioned rooms with approximately 3,500 sq.ft of internal floor area. While the property has the distinct Georgian Period feel, it boasts modern facilities most noticeably to the bathroom and kitchen.
The property has pedestrian gated entrance to the main dwelling with vehicular entrance to the stable courtyard and further vehicle gated entrance to the rear. There is pebble courtyard area to one side of the property with gardens divided with mature trees and woodland to one side. There is further lawn area with shrubs, plants and hedgerow pathway in place. The barracks area has courtyard with stables, storage area and hay loft.
The residence itself stands on circa 0.65 acres and had previous planning permission to construct 3 terraced dwellings to the rear. The property ...