€1,400,000 -€100,000 on 6th Oct 17
A truly charming and beautifully situated c.1800 period property nestled in a serene, peaceful and private setting surrounded by magnificent woodland and gardens overlooking Clifden harbour and bay.
The three bay, two storey Old Rectory was built c. 1856 by John Darcy, who founded Clifden some decades earlier for his son the Rev Hyacinth D'Arcy, the building remained largely as it was for over a century and a quarter when it was sold by the Church Representative Body and a new smaller Rectory was built. The current owners purchased the property in 1975 and carried out extensive renovations in the intervening years too an exceptionally high standard taking particular care to preserve the history and heritage of this period
property. The Coach House and Stables were converted in 2002.
A spectacular setting in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. The old Rectory is approached through electric gates via an avenue which gently meanders through mature woodland to the front of the property. The house is set in its own spectacular grounds and gardens with views of the sea and is not visible from the main road as it lies below the line of the famous Sky Road and Beach Road below and is bound by a cut stone wall. To the rear of the house is a cobbled courtyard with 3 bedroom guest house, original cut stone barn, workshop, sports room, games room and log store.
The Old Rectory offers well proportioned light filled accommodation throughout. The main house has excellent formal reception rooms and beautiful entertaining rooms coupled with being a comfortable family home. The property retains many of the original period features including sash windows and shutters, plasterwork, joinery, ornate corniced ceiling roses, peri ...