Culdaff is situated in that most northerly part of Ireland, known as the Inishowen Peninsula, in County Donegal. It is an area of outstanding beauty, steeped in history, the picturesque village is set around the village green and pump-house and originally dates back to the 8th century. The existing village layout is based on an 18th century design and is built over the site of the old monastery of St. Buadan.
The present day Church of Ireland stands on the foundations of the old monastic church and the ancient graveyard of Ardmore opposite Mc Grorys was also part of the same site.
The village is set on the banks of the Culdaff River which is crossed by two stone bridges that mark the location of ancient fords that gave Culdaff its name. In Gaelic, Culdaff is Cul da Ath, or corner of the two fords.
A visit to Culdaff is not complete until you have visited the well known or should we say famous McGrorys Pub, Restaurant and Music venue.
A family run business that was first started in 1924, McGrorys has two unique bars. The Front Bar, noted for its fine food, drink, traditional Irish music and a warm welcome, and The Backroom Bar, famous throughout Ireland and beyond for its quality of music and entertainment, often featuring in major tour itineraries where Culdaff is listed alongside major cities including London, Glasgow, Manchester, Dublin, Belfast, and Galway. Not bad for a village of just over 300 people.