This unique and historic hydro generation station traces its origins back to 1891 when the existing mill building at the time was modified to house the original turbine, generating electricity that gave Carlow town the distinction of becoming the first inland town in Ireland or Britain to receive electric power.
The facility was recommissioned in 1990 with the installation of the current 250 kW Kaplan generator on the site of the original turbine, with the further addition of a concrete block turbine house and associated switching mechanisms. This extension presents a further two generation sites, neither in current use.
The station is serviced by a well maintained head race and tail race configuration, with associated sluice gate and fisheries controls in place.
The site currently feeds the national grid with a supply contract in place with Airtricity, consistent with similar contacts negotiated through Irish Hydro Power Association. Performance figures and revenues generated over the past decade are available for inspection.
Included in this sale is the original mill building. The eleven-bay, seven-storey structure was completely destroyed by fire in November 1862. The first floor and six lofts collapsed, with all machinery and stored corn destroyed. The mill has remained derelict since then, but forms a lasting land mark, renowned for its imposing profile, crenellated parapet and the picturesque arched bridge.
Derelict Mill. 32.8m x 14.0 (107'7" x 14.0): Derelict seven storey, eleven bay stone structure.
Turbine Room 1 11.86m x 8.33m (38'11" x 27'4"): Located on the ground floor of the original mill on the site of the original hydro generator. 250kW Kaplan turbine with gear box and switching mechanisms.
Turbine Room 2 13.7m x 10.8m (44'11" x 35'5"): Concrete built with shelved roof. Two turbine stations. Switching gear and cabinets. Rear access to head race.
Yard. Access gates from main road to rear yard, and head race.